Getting to the bottom of the intray

18 03 2008

I can’t believe the Easter Bunny is about to hit the ‘burbs already. Where is the year going? The to-do list is ridiculous and the deadlines are whooshing by at an alarming rate.

I agree with the wise person who said: “When you die, your intray will still be full”.  We have this illusion that if we just keep on top of it, everything will be ‘in order’ when we die (or hopefully in time for us to live a little). We’re always trying to get to the end of the list or the bottom of the intray…and beating ourselves up because we never quite get there.

And here’s the irony…We usually attack all those apparently ‘must do’ things so we can have some guilt-free time to ourselves – and we can do the things we want to do. Like write a novel. Or read one.

I’m in the habit of moving so fast, I’ve actually forgotten how to slow down. So guess what’s on the top of my to-do list today? (1) Write my blog [tick!!] (2) work on my novel for at least one hour, and (3) eat an Easter bunny. The chocolate variety.

Now that’s a to-do list I can work with!

Elle

Actions

Information

3 responses

19 03 2008
Sash

I bet you eat the bunny before you write!

20 03 2008
Elle

You know me too well! I’m still working on that whole ‘guilt-free time’ concept. But eating chocolate helps. I think.

elle

4 08 2008
The to-do list « Sliding In Sideways

[…] decided that when I die, of course my ‘intray’ will be full. It’ll be crammed with all the to-do stuff that I never get to – because I’d rather be […]

Leave a Reply

