watch this space…

14 01 2009

Sash and I had the ‘power lunch’ today… hmmm, that’s a bit 80s, dahling! Okay, we did lunch and vino and talked about what we’re going to work on this year.

After the second glass…look out world. We moved into the ‘what if’ zone. What if, this year, we really mean it? What if, this year, we really do it? What if, this year, we actually take real time, real hours to work on our dreams and see what happens?

Oh, that’s scary territory. What if we actually have a bit of fun, enjoy the process, get it done?

What if we fail? Reminds me of Theodore Roosevelt’s Man in the Arena speech:

“It’s not the critic who counts, not the man who points out how the strong man stumbled, or when the doer of deeds could have done better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena; whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs and comes short again and again; who knows the great enthusiasms, the great devotions and spends himself in a worth cause; who at the best, knows in the end the triumph of high achievement; and who at the worst if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who know neither victory or defeat.”

I’ve had that pinned to my various walls since I was 15 and read it in a martial arts magazine (as you do). I love it.

And you’ve got to love a new year, a fresh page, and the rekindled desire to carve out a bit of time to do some dream-chasing. To fail while daring greatly…

So stay tooned. There are plans afoot. And that means you will get to hear from us more this year. Which may, or may not, be a good thing!

Tallk to you soon

Elle x

Actions

Information

2 responses

19 01 2009
mosaicmoods

Great quote. It reminds me of the quote I’ve carried around for years:
“there is no comparison between that which we may lose by not trying and that by not succeeding.” ~Sir Fancis Bacon

I wish I had someone to toast this year’s dreams with me. I do “love a new year.”

23 01 2009
Elle

I love that quote… it’s a bit like the bumper sticker “Imagine what you would do if you knew you couldn’t fail”. I hope you have a great year!
Elle 🙂

Leave a Reply

